GuestBook / E-Mail / Notes
Cast & Rings

GREAT READS
~~~~~~~~
SoImEmo
Cosmicrayola
Trance Jen
Six Weasels
Kitchen Logic
Foosgold
Fiery Swallow
Save Craig
Cindie-Loo
Lederhoser
Planet Queen
DrewBearsf
WeatherKing
Pork Tornado
Drew1986
Cactus Head


If you leave e-mail, please include your diary name or URL.
Thank you!

Current / Archives / Profile / Contact / Host / Design

2003-03-28 // I Hope The New Landlords Like Cats

Well, I got an apartment.

They're letting me have my Border Collie. I haven't told them I have cats yet. I'm going to give them the down payments and sign forms tomorrow. I'll ask about it then. Actually, I'll probably beg. It's bad enough I'm losing 2 of my dogs - I'll never feel like I'm making a happy, fresh, new start if I don't have my cats.

If there is a Pet God Entity, pleasepleaseplease pray to it that I get to keep my cats, ok? I've placed my Lab with new parents and am going to find a home for the Pomeranian, and I'm losing my home of the past 9 years. I really don't think I can stand losing my cats, too.

I'm looking forward to starting over and the new place is very nice, but emotionally, the price is very high. I'm losing my animals and they mean the world to me.

My father, the non-pet-owner is very unsympathetic about this... I just keep crying about losing my animals and I guess he just can't understand it. Or maybe he's just more rational than I am.

I think people who don't have (or want) pets can't seem to understand the attachment involved. They not "just animals" to me, like they are to my step-father. They're not disposable beings who don't matter. I have found my dogs to be more loyal and loving to me than most people have been in my life. They're always happy to see me. They always want to be with me. They don't argue, whine, beg or expect anything from me except a little kibble and a pat on the head. They want nothing but my companionship. They make me feel special.

You can't buy that. And with a lot of people, you can't even earn it.

My cats (like most cats) are more independant, but no less important. Nothing is more soothing than a cat purring next to you at night. It doesn't need you for food - it would hunt if you didn't give it to them. All they want is to keep warm with you and do "happy feet" on your back. I've had 2 previous husbands who wanted more and gave less.

This could all be perfect. I thought it was like the end of the world (sometimes, I don't handle life well... OK, *usually* I don't handle life well) when I was losing my house ONLY because I knew I'd have to lose my animals. But if I can at least keep the dog and my cats, maybe it's not the end of the world. Maybe, it's just the beginning.

prev // next

Older Entries

The Cleaning Frenzied Avidproxy Has Landed - 2003-04-08

Come On, You Know You'll Love Me - 2003-03-30

T-Minus FIVE DAYS And Counting... - 2003-03-30

Woman Cannot Live On X-Box Alone - 2003-03-29

I Hope The New Landlords Like Cats - 2003-03-28